2017-18 Graduate Scholarship Recipients

ISE is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Hatch Graduate Scholarship for Sustainable Energy Research, the C.W. Bowman Graduate Scholarship, the Mercedes-Benz Canada Graduate Fellowship in Fuel Cell Research and the Mrs. Vijayalakshmi Graduate Scholarship in Sustainable Energy.  In total, 24 outstanding students will receive scholarships worth $195,500 for the 2017/18 academic year.

Hatch Graduate Scholarship for Sustainable Energy Research
Congratulations to Enrico Antonini (MIE), Jonathan Edwards (MIE),  Marina Freire-Gormaly (MIE), Nan Ge (MIE), Samy Ghobrial (MIE), (MSE), Hui Huang Hoe (Chem-Eng), Jak Li (MSE), Mengxia Liu(ECE),Stephanie Nyikos (Chem-Eng), Rajiv Prinja (ECE), Jobin Puthuparampil (MIE), ZhenBang Qi (MIE), Junnan Shangguan (Chem-Eng), Haoran Wu(MSE), and Tongfeng Zhang (MIE)

Mercedes-Benz Canada Graduate Fellowship in Fuel Cell Research
Congratulations to Hang Liu, PhD Candidate in Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, this year’s recipient of the Mercedes-Benz Canada Graduate Fellowship in Fuel Cell Research.

Mrs. Vijayalakshmi Graduate Scholarship in Sustainable Energy
Congratulations to Alvin Virya, PhD Candidate in Materials Science & Engineering, recipient of the Mrs. Vijayalakshmi Graduate Scholarship in Sustainable Energy, to be awarded each year to a graduate researcher in sustainable energy with a focus on energy storage.

C.W. Bowman Graduate Scholarship in recognition of  outstanding academic achievement and leading scientific work in energy research and technology, that not only furthers the boundaries of important engineering research but the interests of humanity. Congratulations to Sharon Mandair (Civil), James Fan (ECE), Mustafa Mahfouz (ECE), Sridevi Thomas (MSE), Jon Obnamia (Chem-Eng), Calvin Ng (MIE), and Anton Sediako (MIE).