2012 Outstanding Energy Paper Awards

GREENRIBBONsmallEarlier this fall, ISE announced the first competition for its new Outstanding Energy Paper awards. These awards recognize outstanding energy papers written by personnel (i.e. graduate student or postdoctoral fellow lead author). We are pleased to both announce the winners for the 2012 Awards, and to launch the 2013 Awards.

The 2012 Outstanding Energy Paper Awards ($500 prize for each)

Advanced proton conducting membrane for ultra-high rate solid flexible electrochemical capacitors
Han Gao and Keryn Lian
Journal of Materials Chemistry, 2012, 22, 21272-21278 http://dx.doi.org/10.1039/c2jm34840c

Implications of Driving Patterns on Well-to-Wheel Performance of Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles
Leon Raykin, Heather L. MacLean, and Matthew J. Roorda
Environmental Science & Technology, 2012, 46 (11), pp 6363–6370 http://dx.doi.org/10.1021/es203981a

Colloidal Quantum Dot Photovoltaics: The Effect of Polydispersity
David Zhitomirsky, Illan J. Kramer, André J. Labelle, Armin Fischer, Ratan Debnath, Jun Pan, Osman M. Bakr, and Edward H. Sargent
Nano Letters, 2012, 12 (2), pp 1007–1012 http://dx.doi.org/10.1021/nl2041589

Experimental Determination of the Efficiency and Emissions of a Residential Microcogeneration System Based on a Stirling Engine and Fueled by Diesel and Ethanol
Nicolas Farra, Tommy Tzanetakis, and Murray J. Thomson, Murray
Energy and Fuels, 2012, 26 (2), pp 889–900 http://dx.doi.org/10.1021/ef201468j

Personnel, please submit your 2013 paper for consideration by January 1, 2014. Simply email a PDF of the paper to ise.events@utoronto.ca.