Hatch Graduate Scholarship for Sustainable Energy Research

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2013/2014 Hatch Graduate Scholarship for Sustainable Energy Research.  These $10,000 awards are provided through a generous donation from Hatch Ltd.   The Institute for Sustainable Energy administers the scholarship on behalf of the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering.  Congratulations to this year’s recipients!

Faraz Arbabi PhD MIE sup. Aimy Bazylak
Sherry Esfahani PhD MSE sup. Mansoor Barati
Han Gao PhD MSE sup. Keryn Lian
Fan Lin PhD Chem-Eng sup. Cathy (Ya-Huei) Chin
Arthur Montazeri PhD ECE sup. Nazir Kherani
Mike Ranjram MASc ECE sup. Peter Lehn
Kasun Samarasekera MASc ECE sup. Reza Iravani
Samiha Tahseen MASc Civil-Eng sup. Bryan Karney
Haoran Wu MASc MSE sup. Keryn Lian
Johnny (Chen) Huai MASc MSE sup. Geoffrey Ozin, Doug Perovic
Pirathayini Srikantha PhD ECE sup. Deepa Kundur

In addition to new recipients, the following students received a renewal of their award.

Firouz  Badrkhnai Ajaei PhD ECE
Matthew Genovese MASc MSE
Jim Y.J.  Kuo PhD MIE
Jocelyn Zuliani MASc Chem-Eng
Eric Sheung-Chi Fan PhD MIE
Fahimeh Kazempour PhD ECE
Shahab Poshtkouhi PhD ECE

The awards are intended to fund research and training of world-class researchers and engineers in the fields of recovery and utilization of energy derived sustainably from the sun and other sources; specifically in the areas of power generation from photovoltaic solar cells, wind turbines and hydraulic turbines, systems for the efficient utilization of thermal and electrical energy derived sustainably and energy storage by batteries, pumped hydro, molten salts, compressed air, and other means.

[PLEASE NOTE] We will be changing the timeline for the 2014/2015 competition in order to announce the award prior to the start of the academic year.  Please look for application information in late May, 2014.